BINNS Hearing Healthcare

Testimonials - What our clients say!

 

Lisa in the press!

Courtesy of The Yorkshire Post

 

Lisa helps Kaiser Chiefs and Embrace

11:50am Tuesday 17th March 2009 By Annette McIntyre

AS well as looking after the hearing of some of Yorkshire’s most famous rockers, Lisa Binns-Smith has become the first winner of the UK Audiologist of the Year Award Lisa, 34, works with a number of musicians, including members of the Kaiser Chiefs and Smokie, at her healthcare centre in Apperley Bridge. Lisa, who works with her father and a colleague, said: “We see several members of the Kaiser chiefs and also some of Embrace.” Mike Craft, from Smokie, is a regular client.

Binns Hearing healthcare has been recognised as a national centre of excellence by one of the industry’s leading bodies – the Association of Independent Hearing Healthcare Professionals. Lisa said: “We want to work not only with people who have a hearing problems but we would like to actually prevent hearing problems.” She said: “We would give a drummer more hearing protection than a guitarist or vocalist, and we do a lot of hearing protection for the police as well. “You never get two days exactly the same. We have some lovely clients and a lot of them have known us for many, many years.” She said one family they cared for spanned five generations. Lisa was put forward for the award by a patient, Dawn King, who works locally as a nurse practitioner. She credits Lisa with transforming her professional and social life by painstakingly identifying and fitting hearing devices that work effectively with her stethoscope. Lisa said: “Being named Audiologist of the Year is a great honour, of course, but being able to help people like Dawn with their hearing is a huge reward in itself. “It was a huge surprise to find I’d won because I didn’t even know I had been nominated. But it’s lovely to find that you are truly appreciated. I see many lovely clients and feel privileged to be able to help them.”

© Copyright 2001-2011 Newsquest Media Group

 


Mr N Redmond
May 2011

Letter of recommendation from Mr N Redmond

 

Stuart Clark
July 2010

24 th July 10

Dear All at Binns,

I would like to say what a difference there has been to my life since having purchased hearing aids from Binns Hearing 4 years ago.

It took me quite a while to decide to do something about improving my hearing, I had started to notice I was struggling to hear some people and this was especially noticeable in noisy environments, to the point of me being subdued/ withdrawn. Getting fed up of asking people to repeat things several times over and then just giving up so to try to keep face.

I found I was becoming quite jumpy, as I was not aware of people approaching me if they were behind me.

On the first day I attended Binns Hearing a hearing test was carried and I was able to try hearing aids. The difference was unbelievable and to this day I can remember vividly the day that I had my hearing aids fitted. The noise when I left Mr Binns was tremendous, from hearing the birds when I stepped outside to the traffic noise, even hearing a strangers footsteps as he walked past.

It took me about 3 months to truly adapt to my new hearing with regular review on the way, I am now in a position that I wear my hearing aids all day and forget that they are there! They are now a part of me.

My life has changed dramatically, I now feel as though I’m back in the real world. The hearing aids have taken the effort away from hearing.

I would like to Thank all at Binns for all the help and support from day one. I always feel very welcomed whenever I go for my regular check ups and servicing. I now feel my hearing really is “Priceless”

Yours Sincerely

Stuart Clark.

 

Professor Diana Anderson
October 2008

Letter of recommendation from Professor Diana Anderson

 

Gill's Story
July 2007

My Dad was going slowly deaf. He put it down to flying Lancasters during the war. Somehow he passed that experience on to me, the deafness without the Lancaster! …. and I in turn have passed this on to both my children. The Lancasters have a lot to answer for.

When I realised I was going deaf and had to do something I naturally put it off for a while. Then I finally bit the bullet and answered an advertisement. Scary stuff. Lots of bumf followed. I had my ears tested by more than one hearing aid dispenser. I felt disheartened and disillusioned by the whole procedure of trying to get a suitable hearing aid, particularly when each dispenser wanted to push their most expensive aid.

I was driving through Bradford one day, some ???? years ago, and saw Binns and decided it was worth a shot. I called in to make an appointment and I have to say it was one of the best decisions I have ever made. I was made to feel that my hearing loss was their concern and that they were happy to make sure I got precisely the right aid for my hearing loss, with no pushing of expensive aids that would not be suitable.

I truly believe that Binns aftercare is second to none. I work in a busy office and am responsible for the sales and credit control for a medium sized company with rapid growth. It takes time to get used to hearing with an aid and my hearing was vital to my work. Binns exhibited utmost time and patience with my initial trips to them in attempts to get my aid set up for hearing in a busy office and for the telephone system I use. I can get an appointment readily to have my aid adjusted and, in a dire emergency, they lent me an aid on the one occasion my own was being repaired.

I now have moderate hearing loss and wear two aids and with Binns help I have been able to maintain my position without hindrance.

My daughter is 37 and she too needs an aid and is in the process of getting one through Binns. My son is 30 and also going deaf and he too will need one soon. They will both benefit from Binns keeping up to date with all the very latest technology.

I cannot recommend Binns more highly – they are a family business with a huge amount of experience between them. Lisa (nee Binns) has been little short of my saviour in a world I thought I was destined to watch on the periphery, all on account of being mutton jeff.

Marian
June 2007

It is always a pleasure to go to BHH. Everyone is friendly, professional and up to date on the latest developments in hearing aids/equipment. A visit to BHH takes the pain out of having to wear and maintain a hearing aid. Nothing is too much trouble and you are given as much time as is necessary on each visit. You are treated as a person with indivdual needs not as a number, which isn't always the case with other suppliers.

I would recommend BHH to anyone with hearing issues.

Brian C. J. Moore, Ph.D.
Professor of Auditory Perception,
Department of Experimental Psychology,
University of Cambridge





During the last decade there have been considerable advances in hearing aid design, but also in hearing aid complexity. Current hearing aids can now be adjusted very precisely to suit the individual patient, and they offer such possibilities as automatic gain control and the use of different settings (programs) for different listening environments. New technology is expensive to develop, and this is reflected in the relatively high cost of the more advanced hearing aids. Given the limited resources of the National Health Service it is to be expected that the latest designs will only be available via the private dispensers.

Are Private Aids Really Better than NHS Aids?

Many patients are told by their audiologists or by their GP that aids bought privately are unlikely to sound much better than their NHS aids. Once the patients find that their NHS aids are of limited benefit, they assume that nothing more can be done for them, and they "Give Up". I believe that this advice given by (some) audiologists and GPs is basically false. The majority of NHS aids give more gain at mid frequencies than at high frequencies, the opposite of what is required by many patients. In addition, NHS aids generally offer only limited possibilities for adjusting the frequency response, and they do not offer effective compensation for loudness recruitment. Private hearing aids are in principal capable of better performance and of giving greater user satisfaction. However, this greater satisfaction will only be achieved if the aid is appropriate for the individual, and if it is fitted and adjusted correctly.

Patients are Often Given Unrealistic Expectations

Hearing aid manufacturers and some dispensers have been guilty in the past of making unrealistic claims. Phrases such as "crystal clear hearing", "cuts out background noise" and so on have been used quite indiscriminately. This leads to bitter disappointment when the patients discover the true situation. Patients should be told that hearing aids would not restore hearing to normal. Hearing aids may greatly improve communication but they are not like eyeglasses. Some aspects of hearing loss (such as reduced ability to resolve the frequency components present in complex sounds) are simply not corrected by hearing aids. Prudent advice about background noise is also essential. In hearing aids currently on the market, the only way of improving the ratio of speech in background noise is by the use of directional microphones. Even with these, the improvement is modest under everyday listening situations. Hearing aids incorporating two-channel compression can give small improvements in the ability to understand speech in noise (Moore, B.C.J., Johnson, J.S., Clarke, T.M., and Pluvinage, V. (1992). “Evaluation of a dual-channel full dynamic range compression system for people with sensorineural hearing loss," Ear Hear, 13, 349-370), but they do this by making both speech and noise more audible. Hearing aids incorporating compression make background noise more noticeable not less noticeable. This has to be explained to the patient. The important thing is that the aids are making more sounds audible, and so more information is available.

If a patient has impaired hearing in both ears, then the importance of having two aids should be pointed out. People normally listen with two ears, and even normally hearing people can have trouble understanding speech in background noise when one ear is blocked up. For a hearing impaired person, listening with two aids as opposed to one can lead to bigger improvements in the ability to understand speech in noise than either directional microphones or two channel compression.


The University of Sheffield
Department of Psychology
Prof. Peter Redgrave


To: Binns Hearing Healtheare

November 11, 2002

My name is Peter Redgrave and I am 52 years old. I am a professor in the Dept Psychology at the University of Sheffield. I became aware of my hearing loss about 7-8 years ago and contacted a colleague who is a hearing expert at the University of Cambridge, Prof. Brian Moore. Upon learning the type of hearing problems I was having he suggested I contact Eddie Binns of Binns Hearing Healthcare in Bradford.

My first visit to Bradford confirmed that I had significant high-frequency hearing loss in both ears - for example, when I listen to a band play I could not hear the drummer tapping the cymbals, and conversations in crowded places were also increasingly difficult. The profile of my hearing loss is characteristic of that induced by exposure to excessive noise - a consultant at the Royal Hallamshire Hospital in Sheffield, who I also consulted about that time, guessed I was a steel-man and promised me significant compensation for a work-related injury. Unfortunately, I think it was more a combination of bad genes, too much 1960's rock music and riding motor cycles for many years without wearing ear-plugs - nothing to do with my academic work, hence no compensation !

Following a careful assessment of the precise nature of my hearing loss Binns recommended a pair of programmable hearing aids that selectively boost the frequencies I have difficulty hearing. There is no doubt, over the past 7 years there have been many situations (meetings, tutorials, travel etc.) which would not have been possible without the help of my hearing aids. However, during over the past 7 years my hearing has not got better and I am now at the point where my bearing with the aids is about as good as it was without them when I first contacted Mr Binns.

A few weeks ago, after 6 years of continuous use (while I'm awake I wear them most of the time), my hearing aids began to malfunction. While away being repaired Lisa Binns, who is now in partnership with her father at Binns Hearing Healthcare, made available a replacement pair of the latest digital bearing aids (NAME AND TYPE) for me to try. Again, having worn the new aids almost continuously for about 3 weeks I have been particularly impressed by the improvement in my hearing. Compared with my analogue aids the new digital ones are particularly good in situations where there is continuous background noise. They have a 'focus' mode in which continuous noise (e.g. the fan of a slide/video projector or background chatter in a restaurant) is actively suppressed while discontinuous noise (e.g. speech), especially that coming from in front, is selectively enhanced. Also, the sound is generally crisper, more natural and less prone to distortion when the high frequencies, which I need, are amplified. So what evidence supports these general impressions ? Over the past few weeks my wife has noticed the number of times I say "what ?", "Can't hear", "say again " has fallen dramatically. Also, I can view TV drama again without resorting to sub-titles. Importantly for my job, last week I was able to attend the poster- sessions at the annual meeting of the Society for Neuroscience in America and hold intelligible conversations against the loud background hum of other conversations in the convention hall.

Although the digital aids are expensive (about £2000/aid), having experienced them for an extended period (thank you Lisa !), it would be difficult for me to go back to the old analogue aids. Having consulted family and colleagues the consensus is, "what would you rather spend your money on ?". A question to which I have no good answer.

© Copyright 2003 - 2018 Binns Hearing Healthcare

Audiologist of the Year 2008! - Lisa Binns-Smith